The Music Muse

I’ve always been a fan of beautiful music. It’s one of humankind’s redeeming qualities. When writing Opalescence I usually retreated to a darkened room, devoid of as much unwanted outside stimuli as possible. This was so that I could permit my mind to wander undistracted. To slip back in time and travel that long, lovely, yet dangerous road down prehistoric California with Tom and Julie Pine and experience what they experienced.

Music was the exception, however. It was a stimulus I wanted in. As I wrote in The Sacred Secret, nature has its own song. It’s a tune one often feels rather than hears, though the sounds of songbirds, streams, whispering pines and ocean tides are the chorus. Spend some time in the woods and you’ll see what I mean.

First, though, I had to find that which transported me, carried me away to a special place, touched that tentative part of my psyche, my soul, where the story lay waiting. I’d already spent years researching the facts, had them all lined up, but I had to put flesh on the bones. Thus, while I was the gardener, music was the fertilizer that released the muse, and allowed the story to grow.

Though a bit private, this may give you some insight into my mind at the time. Following is a small sampling of the tunes I listened too (this was in addition to some of the songs listed on my Video page).

Enjoy.

First up, The Magic Forest by David Arkenstone, from his Quest of the Dream Warrior album.

Promise by David Helpling, from Sleeping on the Edge of the World

Larry’s World by Russ Freeman, from the Touch album.

For All Who Wish by Donald Quan, from Dan Gibson’s Solitudes: Dreaming By The Stream album.

Vineyard Days by Tommy Greer, from A Smooth Jazz Celebration: Here On Cloud Nine

Prelude to the Past, from A Smooth Jazz Celebration: The Good Life album.

Forever the Optimist by Patrick O’Hearn, from his Between Two Worlds album.

Tower of Stone by Ah Nee Mah, from the album Native Visions.

Within Attraction by Yanni, from his In the Mirror album.

Synopsis by William Ackerman, from his Past Light album.

When I was feeling gloomy about the future in my writing of the first section, I listened to Dragon Stirs, Then Sleeps by Kay Gardener. From her Drone Zone album. I searched but couldn’t find a YouTube video of it, only locating this snippet.

http://muzetunes.com/playback.mp3?f=I&c=uFkhN3L4WQnpA7-J0ayLBJ2uMpyooBAkuuEGDeQZ19I=

Leave a Reply

