Hi Valley

This is a hike that I’ve only walked a few times, yet it’s a beauty. The first time, I discovered it quite by accident years ago. No signs or marker, just a thin trail I happened to notice meekly winding it’s secretive way through the grassy woodland until it was lost from view. I took it not knowing where it might lead. Miles later it ended at Hi Mountain Fire Lookout. It was so lovely I knew I would have to return.

On this day we started at the other end, my daughter and I, at the lookout, and headed down Hi Mtn Trail. We chose Sunday morning as the weather was ideal, a weekend lull in the weeks long heat. The trail was overgrown here and there, which was okay by us. We brought along a delicious lunch of noodles, raspberry tart pie and lemonade, which filled us with energy.

Where the trail leveled out below is a lovely grassy area with a fantastic view of the Arroyo Grande back country. We continued along, rounding bends, climbing little rises and then down again, always tempted by glimpses of the valley below. It reminded me of that line in Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken:

“Yet knowing how way leads on to way I doubted if I should ever come back”

Following are some pics of our hike. Won’t you come along?

Starting at the Lookout

Starting at the Lookout

Looking out at Pozo valley

Looking out at Pozo valley

Topo Map

Topo Map

Bear scat on the trail

Bear scat on the trail

Musty gets Hot feet

Musty gets Hot feet

Our eventual resting area

Our eventual resting area

Oats grow wild here

Oats grow wild here

As does poison oak

As does poison oak

A happy boy

A happy boy

Berries Everywhere!

Berries Everywhere!

I love waving grasses

I love waving grasses

So does Musty

So does Musty

A cave!

A cave!

Closeup

Closeup

I spy the High Ridge Trail at Lopez Lake

I spy the High Ridge Trail at Lopez Lake

The shadows lengthen

The shadows lengthen

The moon makes a showing

The moon makes a showing

A look back

A look back

Return

Return

4 thoughts on “Hi Valley

Leave a Reply

