The Mountains Are Calling

and I must go. ~ John Muir

More than a year ago I wrote a post about my desire to hike the Pacific Crest Trail. All 2,650 miles of it. From Canada to Mexico.

I’ve long believed that everyone needs at least one real journey in his/her life. Most people that hike the PCT go South to North, but I want to go in the opposite direction, toward the sun. I’ve always felt a strange pull southward.

Anyway, it hasn’t happened yet thanks to a never ending spate of responsibilities. There’s always something that must be done. What to do? Let’s face it, if we let it happen, each of us will be on the wageslave/duty treadmill until were too old for any kind of odyssey or just gone.

In the meantime, I have been reading about this particular hike. I’ve walked, I suspect, thousands of miles on countless day hikes over the last 25 years, ranging on average between 10 and 20 miles each, and cherish many wonderful and irreplacable memories. On the trail you learn the difference between what’s real and what’s not, an invaluable perspective. You learn that there is so much more to life than just the human sphere and that it, that real world, is beautiful. Still, I’ve not done many multi-day treks, and I so long to.

The season for a PCT thru-hike is about over for the year, but as my daughter is out of school for the summer maybe we can fit in a shorter section hike.

That’s if I can just finish one more thing.

Following are a couple of great videos about people who were able to set aside their responsibilities (and guilts about them) and take the trek. Enjoy.


I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. ~ Henry David Thoreau

2 thoughts on “The Mountains Are Calling

Leave a Reply

