Hiking Fare

On a different note, I thought I’d post a recipe I once came up with for trail food. It was in college, a nutrition class, and I researched what seemed to be the most nutritionally complete ingredients. For the sake of quaintness I called it Ron and Ruddy’s Healthy Hiking Energy Cookies. Here is the formula (keep in mind you want to use organic where possible):

1 box of quick bread mix
1 cup of whole milk
1 cup of 100% rolled oats
1/2 cup of spanish peanuts
1/2 cup of sunflower seeds
1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup of pine nuts
1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips (not Nestles)
1/2 cup of sesame seeds
1/8 cup of chia seeds
1/8 cup of soy flour
1/8 cup of honey
1 tbsp of safflower oil
A few dashes of Himalayan salt

Cook at 300 degrees for a half-hour or so, or they appear done. Refrigerate.

Yes, lots of seeds. Seeds and nuts are some of the best energy intensive foods on the planet. On the other hand, one of the foods I’ve brought along in the past that really got me zooming up these lovely Californian hills was simply a box of cream cheese and some crackers. Breads, being full of carbs and sugars work pretty good too.

Now everyone thinks that a hiker eats only trail mix on the trail. I don’t usually. But when I do I like This one…

Trader Joe's Rainbow's End Trail Mix

Trader Joe’s Rainbow’s End Trail Mix

One thought on “Hiking Fare

Leave a Reply

